The Google Maps team announced the new feature on the company's blog. Contacts are pulled from existing Google accounts, and users can also send links through Messages to friends who aren't on their contacts list when they need to share their location. With the latest update, all you need to do is park your auto, open Google Maps, and tap on the blue location dot. When used that way, sharing will automatically end once you've reached your chosen destination.
Do you ever park in a lot and return hours later only to find that you have no idea where in the labyrinth you left your vehicle? Apple's default Find My Friends app lets people locate your friends and family from your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, or iCloud, and people can also share their whereabouts on iMessage, which pulls from Apple's Maps.
The new Google Maps menu screen, as well as an example of what the app looks like when two people are sharing their location. If you do, then you know it's hard especially during the summer months and the weekends.
You can share your location for time periods ranging from 15 minutes to three days.
Google Maps quietly added a sweet new feature that will help you remember where you parked.
You can also share your route with a friend.
Google also introduced a "share trip" feature which provides contacts with the trip route and ETA. This joins "see places near you", "report blue dot issues" and the dreaded "calibrate blue dot compass" in terms of options.
Although the two sharing features perform mostly the same function, this kind of trip-specific sharing seems the cleaner, simpler solution for many scenarios. The reason that this is cool (and not scary) is that the user can choose with whom they share the location, and for how long it is shared. And on Android devices around the world Google Maps will soon be able to keep track of where you parked your vehicle.